Escape Zone (The Black Room)

Room visited
The Black Room
Aesthetic Adequate
Theming The Black Room is essentially themeless.
Puzzle Design I liked the oveall design of the Black room.
Customer Service
Acceptable
Overall
I like the Black Room. It’s one of the few 45 minute rooms I’ve really enjoyed.

Escape Zone
388 Spadina Ave – 2nd Floor
Toronto, ON M5T 2G5
Cross Street: Spadina Ave. and College St.
Rooms: 4
Group Size: The Billiard Room Murder (2-6), Bio Hazard (2-6), The Black Room (2-6), Da Vinci Code (2-6)
Game Time: 45 minutes
Price: $25.00/Adult, $22.00/Student ($2 discount with Facebook like and check-in, $1 discount with Yelp check-in)
Site: http://www.escapezonetoronto.com/
Phone Number: 647-350-0140

The Black Room at Escape Zone is one of my favourite 45 minute rooms. The story is that you and your team have been handcuffed and kidnapped, but the room is essentially themeless. The room is currently rated at intermediate, but I think it’s a room beginners can enjoy as well. The decor is random and the puzzles are random, but what I like about the room is the overall design of the puzzles. The room is filled with small victories.  I think most players (and especially beginners) respond well with to this format. In my experience, it’s only the more veteran players that enjoy a bigger deferred payoff. There’s only two 45 minute rooms I’ve played so far (at the time of writing this) that were interesting enough for me to recommend, and this was one of them.

2 comments

  1. I’ve now done all 4 rooms at Escape Zone. The last room I had to do was Billiard Room Murder, and frankly it was the only one of the 4 that I didn’t enjoy. The room is full of bad red herrings, and one of the puzzles required such a leap of logic that once it was explained to us we all just shook our heads and felt kind of let down. It’s too bad, because I enjoyed the mental challenges from the other 3 rooms at Escape Zone, but this one… To their credit, the props were all high quality and in good shape. It was just bad puzzle design.

    Like

Leave a Reply

