Site News 2015-02-21


Hello! I’m going to be making a bunch of changes to the site and to some of my personal policies.

The first obvious one is that I picked another theme for the site. I think it looks nicer. I originally wanted something super plain, but I think this one’s more aesthetically pleasing without being obtrusive.

Secondly, I’m going to rescind my policy on trying to post more positive reviews over negative ones. I still do believe that a recommendation is much more helpful to a reader than a negative review, but there’s really only a handful of places I suspect are worth visiting left anyways. Also, I think that many escape facilities are arranging for more promotional material to get out there, so I think stark honesty (even for negative reviews) is a good thing. I also plan on making new reviews for places I’ve already reviewed, in light of getting a more complete picture of the facilities.

The third thing I want to change is that I’m going to start talking about values and principles that I try to adhere to, so readers can know what to expect. I will also be talking values and principles escape facilities should be prioritizing. I’m not trying to impose my views on others, but I think it will be worthwhile discussion to put out there. For example, what is an acceptable level of safety and risk in an escape room? Do the waivers we sign protect the business completely?

The fourth thing is something I’ve been working on and have had requests for – a revamping of the master list. I’m been trying to think of what form the information can take to make it easier to navigate and more helpful for readers. My aim is to have sortable tables, so readers can organize the information in whatever way they want. For example, if you have a group of 9, you can sort by the facility maximums’s for rooms, and you can see all the places that can fit 9 people in one space.

Lastly, I’m going to try to write all the news/deals on Mondays. Anything that happens in the week will just be bumped to the next Monday. It occurred to me that it makes much more sense to be consistent about when those posts come out.

 

4 comments

  1. I really appreciate the work you do on that master list. For what it’s worth, I like the list in the current format. But if others find it more useful to be in a more tabular format, cool. Thanks again for all your work on this!

    Like

Leave a Reply

