News 2014-11-03

Lots of Toronto escape room related news!

LockQuest (http://lockquest.com/) is opening across from Summerhill Station. I’ll probably have more to write on this later this week. The proprietor invited me to check out their spot and to review them. I told him that I was duty-bound to be honest in my reviews, and that it was just his first week. I tend to let places slide on their first week so they can get their act together. I wanted to know whether he wanted me to test out his room or to review it outright – He replied that he thought I’d enjoy the room, and that if it was a bad review, then so be it! I admire the confidence and we’ll see how it goes.

A friend of mine came across a place called Seven Rooms. They’ve been open for about 3 weeks now, but they have no website to speak of! Nonetheless, I managed to get into contact with them. They serve bubble tea, have a karaoke machine and mahjong tables, and sell sneakers (?). Here’s a picture for proof, if it sounds too strange to be true:

There are 3 escape rooms: Saw, Mystery Egypt, and Seven Deadly Signs. I asked why the last room was less expensive, and the propietor said that it used less technology than the other two. The rest of the information is on the master list if anyone’s interested.

Live Escape (http://live-escape.ca) is now fully opened. Their site shows that they have 7 rooms, but their price is still nowhere to be found.

Two new franchises appear to be opening in Toronto now. Omescape (http://www.omescape.ca) appears to have originated in Beijing. They opened up a location in San Francisco and are expanding to the Markham area in Toronto. Lost (http://lostcanada.com/) is a franchise that started up earlier this year in Hong Kong, and is moving to the Downtown area in Toronto Canada. 
My first thought is.. Nice, they have 3192 likes on Facebook despite not being open yet. That is entirely believable.

Speaking of which, Mystery Room (www.mysteryroomonline.com) is opening up a brand new location. Ugh.
I’ve written about Mystery Room here: https://escapistto.wordpress.com/2014/09/12/the-shadier-side-of-room-escape/ . For the record, since I’ve posted that, there have been new ‘questionable’ reviews and ratings. So why does this news bug me so much? It isn’t just the mild dishonesty. What really bothers me is that if you look through reviews, you read about cases of bad customer service, of technology malfunctioning, and pieces just missing from the game. And what’s the response to this? Instead of trying to spend resources to try and fix these issues, it seems like resources are being spent on trying to drown them out. That isn’t behaviour that should be rewarded.

Xscaper Arts (http://xscaper.com/) is also opening a new location somewhere in Scarborough.

Room Escape Adventures (http://roomescapeadventures.com/toronto/) opened on Halloween. I was asked about how the groupings worked, so I passed on the question:
“We’ve had sessions with anywhere from 2-12 people. We don’t turn away smaller groups; however, your odds are generally better with more people in the room.

So in your example, yes, the show would go on with 5 people. Generally we only ask if people want to come back to a different show if it is only 2-4 people showing up. So I would say that 5-12 is definitely the number of people you want to come with!
Toronto Zombie Team”

 

 

 

4 comments

  1. Agreed on your Mystery Room post, I had some family that recently went and booked with them. (it was a group of middle aged people that had a hard enough time booking a babysitter). As much to my insistence that they do their research.. they booked with them, only to be turned away. Lets hope they clean up their act, but only time will tell :-\

    Like

  2. Correction:

    Agreed on your Mystery Room post, I had some family that recently went and booked with them. (it was a group of middle aged people that had a hard enough time booking a babysitter). As much to my insistence that they do their research.. they booked with them, only to be turned away when they got there (after booking with them already and leaving a deposit). Lets hope they clean up their act, but only time will tell :-\

    Like

  3. OK, that Seven Rooms site sounds seriously crazy! I know one site which gets by on its Facebook page while it is getting its web site up and running, but having nothing online at all is just… so… improbable. Maybe they might be making enough off their other activities without it?

    I’ve just watched a video of an automated Mah Jong table. That’s pretty damn nifty.

    Like

    1. If you think about it, they’ve only dedicated 3/7th of their space to escape rooms!
      Bubble Tea, Sneakers, Mahjong, Karaoke, Escape , Escape, Escape!! (I don’t actually know if they really have seven rooms, or if that’s how they’ve alotted their space)

      I just watched a youtube video off an automated Mah Jong table. You lose the fun of shuffling the tiles! I suspect this place has regular unautomated tables where you can play Mahjong.

      Like

Leave a Reply

