Xspace (Castle Escape)

XSpace
Unit 10, 505 Ellesemere Rd.
Scarborough, ON M1R 4Z3
Cross Street: Birchmount Rd. and Ellesmere Rd.
Rooms: 4
Group Size: 2-4, 2-6, and 2-8
Game Time: 60 minutes
Price: $22/person
Site: http://www.505xspace.com/
Phone number: 647-428-0085

Rooms visited: Castle Escape
Theming: Poor.
Puzzle Design: Poor.
Customer Service: Acceptable!
Would I go back? Nope.

I have even more news to post, but I thought I would punctuate all the News with a review.

The price/person at this place is high. In retrospect, it’s actually been quite a rarity that I feel like places over $20 have been ‘worth it’. I asked for what their most impressive room was, but I think the staff interpreted that to mean their most difficult. Nonetheless, my group did manage to escape.
My first thought on finishing this place is that it feels like a waste of space. I don’t mean that in a purely insulting way – The Castle Escape actually consists of 1 large room (which is larger than 95% of the rooms I’ve come across) along with 6 small rooms attached to it. The first puzzle we come across is a math puzzle, printed on a piece of paper, and taped up against a door. It just feels like something better could have been done with the space.

Theme-wise, the rooms were filled with generic halloween-esque dollar store props. More or less, it’s just another place with random puzzles that aren’t really well connected to anything.

Puzzle design! It had one aggravating puzzle, with an arbritrary answer. We ended up bruteforcing the required value and asking the staff what the answer was. It was something completely arbritrary and not something anything you could work on or figure out. It’s so irritating when I come across these puzzles. Who in their right mind thinks this is enjoyable? What’s the rationale behind these puzzles? Blargh

I wouldn’t go back

Leave a Reply

